Clifton Springs was quite the tourist destination in the early days of Melbourne's growth. From 1870, Clifton Springs' fame for its 7 natural mineral springs bubbling up through the beach sand, launched a busy bottling plant, and popular bath houses. At its peak, the Clifton Springs Mineral Company were bottling 5000 bottles of mineral water annually! An elaborate hotel opened in 1888 and a jetty (1890) welcomed passengers from bay steamers. The most favoured spot was the picturesque Fairy Dell set among the coastal hills, near the hotel, sulphur springs bath house and the salt water baths. By the second decade of the 20th century the springs were becoming polluted, considered a health risk and eventually closed. The 19th century buildings on the site had disappeared or been demolished by 1925.
So now much of the grandeur of the day is lost, and only hints of the past, like these pier posts remain.